How to make this community more attractive & active?

Hey everyone :slight_smile:

I’ve created this international community for Gladys a bit more than a year ago, and despite all my effort, it’s still not very active…

I was wondering what I could improve to get more people here ?

@jason @alpha-rd as you were on this forum recently, what do you think is missing here ?

Hey Pierre, came here from a Reddit post. I suggested you be more active on Social Media, more open-source contributors like myself are surely willing to join on a project but they cant if they arent aware of it. Im a UI/UX Designer by the way, and I dont know if you need some design help on the project?

1 Like

Hey!
Welcome on Gladys :smile:

We definitely need help on the UI/UX part, it’s maybe the n°1 thing we need right now!

The philosophy of Gladys is to build a smart home assistant that have a great UI and is simple to use by the whole family.

I would love your feedbacks on the current product so we could improve it!

Thanks. Oh great, can the UI/UX help involve probably redesigning some parts of the website, or the primary focus is on the assistant alone?

1 Like

As you wish :slight_smile:

We are fully open-source, both website & assistant, so any help is welcome !

For the website, we use Docusaurus, so we cannot modify everything (it’s a pre-made solution, we didn’t code the template)

Oh, I see. Alright I`ll try and create an account later, but do I need to have smart home enabled devices to be able to use it?

No you can just install it and try the UI without connected devices, but it’s always better if you try the full experience :slight_smile:

create an account later,

There is no “account”, it’s an open-source self-hosted software !

You can follow our getting started on the website:

Oh cool. I`ll go through it and see any UX Issues that can be improved on then.

1 Like

Hi @pierre-gilles ,

Hard question, I’m just typing along with my toughts, which can become a long read.